top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureMarielena Marroquin

A Memorial Day Ceremony.

I have always had a special place in my heart for Memorial Day and those who paid the ultimate sacrifice for freedom.


However, This year was different.


This year I had the opportunity to visit Margraten, a village in The Netherlands and the home of the American Cemetery.


Margraten was a fruit orchard when the Allied armies started to use this place as the final resting place for our fallen heroes. Today, 8,822 American Soldiers take their final rest on these hallowed grounds.


As the memorial ceremony took place on a cold rainy Sunday afternoon. I could not help but think of these brave young people who were taken from us too soon for a Freedom they will never enjoy. I was able to reflect in a particular way on the families of those young men and women, and I will never stop being grateful to them and their families for their service and sacrifice.



Meeting WWII Veterans:


After the ceremony, I had a serendipitous encounter with eight World War II Veterans. This was delightful to watch the joy and pride their families and friends have for them. I even met a woman who worked in Trenton, New Jersey, for 30 years! We talked about how much she loved the parks where I would go and escape the world as a young adolescent and how her job at the water reservoir was close to, as she put it, the “loony bin.” Even at her old age, she was funny and happy to be around “these boys,” as she referred to the other seven vets.



Visiting my friend’s Father: William P. Johnston, at his final resting place.

Storytime:


A brain is a potent tool! Unfortunately, I underestimate my brain power all too often. At this moment, I was pleased to have the brain power to remember very random facts that I never thought I’d use.


I have the great opportunity of being a Rotarian with the Plaza Rotary Club. This is where I met William’s son Steve. After announcing my extended stay in Holland, one early Friday morning, Steve pulls me aside and tells me about his Father. It’s with great shame that I completely forgot about this conversation. But! My powerful brain did not. That morning I had already decided I was not going to the ceremony in Margraten. It was far, cold, and raining; furthermore, I was not ready to be staying around all day for a 6-hour public transit ride. I walked downstairs, and my gut said, “go to the cemetery.” After a quick internal emotions check, I grabbed my phone and mapped it out, texted my SO that I had changed my mind in precisely three minutes and that I would be joining him at the Cemetery.


But I still had not remembered why I felt so convicted to go. But I listened to my emotions and went along for the ride, literally and figuratively.


Once on my long train ride to Maastricht. I remember Steve Johnston telling me a story about his Father. The details were fuzzy, but I listened to my gut again. I texted Steve at a god-awful hour. The text read something like this:


Good Morning!

I know it is super early, and I hope this does not wake you.

I vaguely remember having a conversation with you about your Father. You mentioned he was buried overseas in an American Cemetery. Is it the one in Holland, perhaps?


And waited to be embarrassed.


He responded the moment the bus arrived at the Cemetery: Yes. William P. Johnston.


My eyes watered, and I walked myself to the visitor’s section. I have to say hello to my friend’s Dad, I said to myself.


Powerful tool the Brian.


I was so embarrassed to come empty-handed. Something tells me he doesn’t mind. But at that moment, I had a COCO thought (Coco is a Pixar movie. If you are reading my blog and don’t know this movie, you are unfriended until you fix this YOU issue!) As long as I live, I will remember my friend’s Dad and what he sacrificed for this country and our freedoms. William P. Johnston will live in my heart. I am grateful my brain helped me remember the story his son told me on a Friday morning in a restaurant basement.


I feel that my brain and heart reminded me of the four-way test.

“Will it build goodwill and better friendships?”


It was not much, but I am glad my brain remembered that small fact. That subconsciously might have been the reason to visit Margraten on that cold, rainy day.

This year was not only different, but It was unique in more ways than one.


With love,

Mari - Until next time, stay hydrated, take your vitamins and be kind.

22 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page