top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureMarielena Marroquin

Depression Sucks! Part 2 of 4

Drink Water!

What, Marielena? You are writing about depression! Yup, Stay! Hydrated! I make poor choices when I am dehydrated. We are 50% water and when the cold and dry winter sets in, it really takes it all out of me. The headaches worsen and stay for days, making it hard to focus. But I know H2O helps me make good decisions and keep a clear mind.


Eat well!

Yeah! No. When the last thing I want to do is get out of bed there is no way that I can eat right! This is why in the winter I gain 10-15 lbs (this is a topic for another day). Eating well is so important since the vitamins and minerals that our brain and body need to heal comes from nutrition. Until a few years ago, I did not understand part of “feeling” good needs to be eating well. Eating well looks like a lot of things from eating the right calories to fresh in-season food. Sometimes I even allow myself to eat that chocolate!


Exercise.

Ugh! I love the way I feel when I workout! I love the way I look when I workout! But especially in the winter months, it is hard for me. I have zero, zilch, nada motivation to do anything. Shoot-- I even have a hard time taking a shower and cooking for myself, let alone exercise. There are days I cannot think about the task I have to complete, let alone make time to work BUT I know it helps and I give myself grace when I don’t make it to the gym whenI would like to. I show-up for myself because I am my main priority and responsibility. And I need to take responsibility for healing myself.

Until next time,

Stay Hydrated, take your vitamins and be Kind!

Love,

Marielena


6 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page