top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureMarielena Marroquin

KraneMelk is not Milk milk.

Greetings Sojourners:


I am not sure how to greet all of you who have come to read of my adventures in Holland so this greeting will just have to do.



Hi. Wolkom.


I am so glad you are here to share in this wild and yet pretty normal adventure with me.


I have rented an Airbnb hosted by a lovely woman named Jen. She works with Autistic persons as a personal aid. She shares her beautiful home with one dog and two cats in this lovely town called Eersel.




Eersel is located 18 minutes southwest of Einhven and 1 hour 24 minutes east of Amsterdam. The town looks like a scene from an only children's story… I sometimes think I am going to run into Hansel and Grettel (minus the scary witches).


Airplane travel always makes me very sick this time was no different so battling a cough (to COVID I checked) and very little Dutch I decided I was going to explore my adopted hometown for the next few months.


My most reliable form of transportation these days is my two feet and I love it! The whole town is about three miles wide and four miles long so it is pretty cozy. I walk at least once a day most times twice which is really nice to see the different feel of the town depending on the time of day.


Here are a few Mari Moments from week one:


KraneMelk is not Milk milk.

I was very proud of myself on my first trip to the supermarket. I found it on a map and took my reusable bag. Off I was to make my first gorcier perchase. I needed my staples: milk (for coffee) bread, veggies, cheese! I was so ready.


But I don’t read Dutch! I have many talents and read many languages Dutch, unfortunately, is not one of them.


I got to the milk aisle. I had too many options! I hate making decisions. It lowkey stresses me out. BUT! I had a decision to make and I had to make it quickly. So I saw a red carton that read M. E. L. K with a cow on it! BINGO! That is the milk I need. Whole milk is always red in the States. I was so super proud. I came home, placed my loot in the mini-fridge, and off to bed I went. In the morning I get ready with my coffee and two lumps of sugar and add my recently acquired MELK into my coffee. Take that first glorious sip of coffee… and YUCK! Thinking “don't be a little brat you have never had milk in Holland maybe it is just the way it is here” I take another big slurp… no! This is bad… “the MELK must be spoiled”, I thought. I inspect the date 16.4.2022. "April 16th" I shouted, "I have a solid three days!" The fridge must have been open overnight! I began to problem solve. Perplexed, I google it. “KRANE MELK in Holland”


My google search yielded the following: Karnemelk is the milk that is left over after the cream has been removed for butter. It's slightly sour and a little thicker than milk and is most often used for baking with: the slight acidity is an excellent trigger for a leavener such as baking powder.



I laughed! And thought welp! Lesson number one!

Red milk in Holland is NOT whole milk and if you want whole milk you have to look for the blue one. They also have Hallemelk which is delightful and made just for coffee.


The moral of the story is Karnemelk is not good in your morning coffee. Kranemelk, maybe, for yogurt, pancakes, or cupcakes but most certainalty not for coffee.


Hope you enjoyed this little story of my time in Holland!

Come back next week for what is sure to be a blast.


Love,

Marielena


Until next time: Stay Hydrated. Take your v itamins and be Kind.

21 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page